West Midlands Road Race League

West Midlands Road Race League

A long established men’s league based on Sunday races within the West Midlands region, supported in 2022 by Fusion Media – full rules are available here but a brief summary follows:


  • Races are 2/3/4 category Regional A or Regional B with exception of Regional championship (Nat B). Distances 50-70 miles, again with exception of Regional championships.
  • For 2023 the rules have been amended to include Reg B races for 3rd and 4th category riders. The thinking here is that Reg A races have become harder and faster in recent years and there need to be more opportunities for local 3rd and 4th cat riders to score points.
  • As far as possible the races are on different courses to suit a variety of riders.
  • The calendar for 2023 covers the entire season from March to September.
  • Entries are prioritised on four levels: first come organising clubs, providing they provide a firm date for their race and have the race live on the British Cycling website before March 13 2022. In 2023 organising clubs are: Bridgnorth, Halesowen, Solihull, Paramount CRT, ProVision, Newport Shrops CC, Wyre Forest, Royal Leamington, Lichfield. Each of these can field up to 8 riders. Second come other organising clubs in West Midlands, notably those involved in the SSSCCRRL. Then come riders from within the region, and finally those outside the region.
  • Standings for West Midlands riders are taken for each round.
  • In 2023 all rounds will count.
  • There will be an individual prize and a team prize. Presentation will be October 27 at the Halesowen club house – all are welcome.
  • 2022 winner was Matthew Humpage, unattached.


The 2023 calendar is as follows:


March 19 
Halesowen Academy RR
Aston on Clun

April 9 

Bridgnorth RR (provisional)



April 16 

Wyre Forest Spring RR (3/4)




May 7 

Phil Ward Memorial


May 21 

Halesowen A&CC RR


May 28

ProVision RR


June 11 

Regional RR Championship (E/1/2/3)

Aston on Clun



July 2

Paramount Summer RR (3/4)


July 9 

Solihull RR


July 23 

Alan Goddard Memorial RR





Royal Leamington RR (3/4)

Friz Hill



September 2 (Saturday)

Nick Clayton Memorial RR



September 9 (Saturday)

Lichfield RR (3/4)



How you
can help